Cooking At Sea

By the fourth day, the seasickness had vanished and a cooked meal seemed delightfully appealing. Even the Can Opener was starved. 
So I set him to work in the galley, chopping and dicing under my expert tutelage. In no time flat, a brightly coloured meal hit the stern outdoor dining table.
Fresh salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, red and yellow peppers, onion and fennel – beautiful for the weirdo herbivores on board.

And a chorizo pasta for the right-minded:
  • onions, garlic and then a LOT of chorizo in olive oil to fry
  • a little red wine for more good flavour
  • red peppers and mushrooms added in next
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • all served on some fluffy butterfly pasta
Naturally the accolades were many and I tipped my feather hat to my appreciative crew. 
The Can Opener of course deserved an honourable mention for his efforts and I’m sure I did mention this at some point in my speech. 
–Captain Cat 
(transcribed by the Can Opener)

Leave a comment