Making Friends In Messina

After our exciting day getting to Milazzo on the ‘edge of the cyclone’,… it struck me that it would be wise to plan to cross the Ionian Sea in company. 
Should wild Force 9+ winds strike again, knowing other boats were nearby and could respond quickly in the event of need would be a comfort – and a good safety precaution for crews on all boats included. 

Messina is the jumping off point for heading across the Ionian to Greece, so of course I immediately set about scouring the marina for new friends who were heading the same direction.


I did not have to scour far – the first boat I inquired of was indeed heading our way, already had a flotilla of 3 boats set up and were professional sailors delivering new yachts for a charter company in Greece. In fact, the first old salt I spoke to was the founder and owner of said business.

Purrfect! And on top of this good news, he had a hundred stories to tell and was boisterous good fun. Sottos and I bonded immediately.

My new best buddy trotted round to the catamaran with me to meet our crew. We all hatched an enthusiastic plan for pizza that evening and an afternoon start for tomorrow when the expected weather window is due to pass through.

No matter where you cruise, new friends abound. 
The Can Opener and I are looking forward to joining Sottos’ flotilla, staying in touch by sight and by VHF over the next two days – and of course, exchanging more views on philosophy, continuing as we had already begun over today’s rather raucous and jovial afternoon tea…

–Captain Cat 
(transcribed by the Can Opener)

Leave a comment